RSS

Emerging From Within

20 Jul

All of my life I have known there was something different about me.  It was very rare for me to talk right up into my 20’s.  Even now, at nearly 40, I struggle to speak a lot of the time.  Others thought I was shy, but I knew that it was more a matter of connections.  My thoughts were loud, and I could easily put them on paper, but it was often impossible for me to connect those thoughts into words to share with others.

Very recently, I was diagnosed with autism.  I was told that I have an expressive language disability.  That is the reason why I have been able to talk, but not able to share for most of my life.  I also have multiple sensory issues, the most prominent being in food texture.

Secondary to my autism, I have also been diagnosed with a severe anxiety disorder, social anxiety disorder, post traumatic stress disorder, depression, and some degree of obsessive compulsive disorder.

While I struggle to speak, I do love to write.  I believe that I have a lot to share in my experiences on this planet, and hope that by sharing my story, others may be helped along the way.

 

One response to “Emerging From Within

  1. wotsbooks

    September 19, 2015 at 4:16 pm

    My wife has asperger’s and my son has autism. My wife was only diagnosed in her late 30s and has found it very difficult to fit into such a prescriptive world. I’m enjoying your blog and hope you continue them, Ned.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
