RSS

Nice Smells, Unproductive Days

19 Sep

As I sit at my computer, delicious smells from homemade soup, and buns baking in the oven drift over to me. I would like to say that it was a good productive day, but once more, that is not the case.

Our washing machine broke down, even though it is only about 7 years old. I am awaiting a new to us machine to come in from the thrift store. I haven’t been able to do laundry in several days, and it is one of my favourite things to do – I love the smell of clean clothes, and find hanging my laundry out on the line to be somewhat therapeutic – but with a broken washer… I miss it.

The soup wasn’t hard to make. I just cut a few vegetables, and threw a bunch of ingredients into the crock pot this morning, then left it alone. I don’t think I spent 15 minutes on it, but it sure does smell nice!

We have a bread maker for the buns. My mom gave it to us for our wedding present nearly 12 years ago, and it has gotten a lot of use. While I do very much enjoy making bread and buns fully from scratch, the bread maker uses less yeast, and does do a very good job. All I have to do is let the buns rise in the oven, and then bake them for 25 minutes. Not a lot of work, really.

I did sweep and wash our floors today, but I meant to do so much more. If I could have gotten my mind to focus, I wanted to do much of my basic cleaning (bathrooms and kitchen and such) as well as quite a bit of organizing… but I couldn’t focus.

My new medication, now on its second day, continues to exhaust me and make my brain fuzzy. I slept for 3.5 hours yesterday afternoon, along with another 2.5 hours today. That is in addition to 9 hours of sleep both nights. It is too much, but what can I do? I fight the tiredness, but can’t get anything done, and then end up crashing anyway.

Maybe tomorrow will be a better day. As for right now… it sure does smell nice in here!

 
 

Tags: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
