RSS

Autism: My Love of Baking

02 Nov

I think that I like baking for much the same reasons that I like doing laundry – they make my house smell so good!

For several years, though, I stopped most of my baking due to my egg allergy. The food just wasn’t the same without eggs. It would crumble, and be hard to eat.

Then, at a time when my egg re-placer was on back order at the health food store, I tried using tapioca starch instead. Suddenly I could bake again! The food tasted good, was the consistency it was supposed to be, and best of all, it held together!

By that point, however, I was working outside of the home, and just didn’t have the time to bake. I thought about it often, but the energy just wasn’t there.

In the last little while, I have been baking again. Once more my house smells so good, and I feel content baking desserts for my husband and son.

Only now I am on a new medication that causes me to gain weight – a lot of weight – like 17lbs in 4 weeks weight, and that scares me. My psychiatrist told me this would happen, but I didn’t expect this. I wasn’t really eating much more, and I have never gained so much weight in such a short period of time in my life. I have never weighed so much in my life.

It seems unfair that when I am in a place where I can finally enjoy food, the medication I am on causes me to gain so much weight even without eating more, that I really have to watch my intake.

So I don’t bake as often as I would like.

Tonight, however, we are having care group in our home. For those who don’t know, it is a small group of 8-15 people, or so, from our church, who get together once a week for Bible study and to check in with each other on how life is going.

I can bake for care group without having to worry that I will eat too much, and my house smells so good!

This afternoon, I baked 2 loaves of pumpkin bread, and have an apple crisp ready to go in the oven in a couple of hours.

001

I have also been doing laundry all day, which is hanging to dry on indoor drying lines (because it is fall, and wet outside.)

Today, the very act of breathing brings me such peace and contentment, for my house smells so good.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on November 2, 2015 in Autism: Reality

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Autism: My Love of Baking

  1. Ruth101

    November 2, 2015 at 1:42 pm

    Love this post so much. Baking really is a way to escape the difficulties in society. I love to cook and bake even though I am pretty awful and my cakes look like an abomination. 😊😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Angel the Alien

    November 2, 2015 at 9:35 pm

    I wish I could bake better, because I sure like to eat the things other people bake! My aunt and I baked Halloween cookies last week and I probably ate half of the cookie dough, raw! Baking for other people is a cool idea because it makes you happy to bake, it makes them happy to receive it, and you don’t have to worry about overeating it all on your own!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
