RSS

2 responses to “Autism: Good, Not Well

  1. kazst

    November 12, 2015 at 1:48 pm

    I would feel frustrated with that statement, “You are doing really well right now,” too. I know they think they’re being encouraging when they say it, but to me it would feel like they’re invalidating what I just told them or like they’re not even willing to try to understand my struggle.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Angel the Alien

    November 12, 2015 at 3:49 pm

    Certainly know the feeling! I am told all the time how “high functioning” I am and that I should not need help with certain things. But you can’t assess how well a person is doing by spending a few hours with them! You’ll never know what goes on “behind the scenes” to get the person to the point where they can spend that few hours with you in the first place!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
