RSS

Autism: You’ve Made Your Bed, Now You Have To Sleep In It

23 Nov

It is my fifteenth year in a row of reading the Little House on the Prairie books each autumn. I was a little late starting this year, as I began the Inheritance cycle in late August, and didn’t finish reading them until a couple of weeks ago, but now that I am back to my routine, I feel a sense of balance in the world.

I started the books the year my son started Kindergarten. I was home schooling him, and had decided to do theme studies out of the Prairie Primer text, which is based on the Little House books.

One thing that hit me new this year was the saying, “you have made your bed, now you have to sleep in it.”

Now I have sensory issues, and if my sheets have the slightest twist or wrinkle, I will get up – even several times in the middle of the night – to remake my bed. The saying, therefore, made little sense to me.

If you don’t like the way your bed is made, just remake it, I thought. You don’t have to sleep in it that way.

And then I reached a part in the Little House books were Pa was actually making the beds, and the base was rope that had to be pulled tight, or the bed would sag.

Ah, I thought. That makes more sense.

Of course, it still seems a strange thing to say when talking about losing a job, or something – but then I have to remember, consequences – they lost their job because of what they did, and they might have trouble sleeping in a bed that they didn’t make properly.

I kind of get it then, but it is a stretch.

Like one time when we were driving along the road, another car coming towards us was on our side of the highway. I asked my husband, “why are they driving on our side?” and he answered, “they are smoothing out the road.”

At that moment, I got a picture in my mind of driving all over the road to get the wrinkles out of it. I didn’t say anything – he likely would have thought I was joking if I had… that is normally when people think I am joking, when I ask questions about such things.

At the time, however, I truly believed that is what he meant, and I didn’t understand how driving on a paved road, that was paved long ago, would make the road smoother.

I understand now what he meant… sort of. Like when you are trying to think of a word, and you can almost think of it, but not quite – or when something happens beside you, and you sort of see it, but not quite.

If I am given time, I might be able to understand what these sayings people have mean – but it might take me fifteen years, and I might only just, but not quite, get it.

Most of the time I have learned to keep quiet when people talk like this. People often consider me to be ‘smart’ because I can study well, and get good grades at school. If I ask about these sayings, however, I can tell by their response that they wouldn’t be able to understand why I can’t get this.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Autism: You’ve Made Your Bed, Now You Have To Sleep In It

  1. The Porcelain Doll

    November 26, 2015 at 6:53 pm

    Reblogged this on perfectlyfadeddelusions.

    Like

     

Leave a Reply

 
