RSS

Autism: Peace For Today

23 Dec

Today I discovered the joy of “moving pictures” on Netflix. Today I watched “Forests” while I ran on my re-bounder, and the 25 minutes went by surprisingly fast.

I am trying… trying to live a life free of striving. Trying to live in the moment, and find joy, peace, and gratefulness here. Trying to learn to trust God, and to depend on Him to supply my every need.

Today I watched “Moving Pictures,” and in doing so, remembered that there is much in this world that I love:

  • trees
  • plants
  • flowers
  • oceans
  • waterfalls
  • stars
  • mountains
  • snow
  • leaves
  • lakes
  • rivers

There are many other things of course, but I was reminded of how my heart swells whenever I am surrounded by nature. These are the things I should surround myself in.

True, it was on the TV, and wasn’t exactly the real thing. I was wanting for the smell of pine trees, the feel of the breeze on my face, to dip my hands in the water as it flowed past… but the picture was clear, and I was reminded of all of these things that I love, and it was enough.

In learning to live in the moment, I am pushing against my fear over the passing of time. I am taking the moments to practice playing my keyboard. I don’t know how to play. I don’t read music well. I don’t process information fast enough to read the music while I am playing – but I am enjoying the activity. I am making it routine, for in routine I find peace.

In the afternoons, I have been knitting while I watch movies. I don’t knit well. I am nowhere near what would be called advanced. I prefer to knit on a loom, as my hands don’t hold the needles well, though I have watched videos to learn how to knit in a traditional style on the loom (I find that actual loom knitting doesn’t hold together well.) But I am knitting, and I am enjoying it.

I have been baking a little, and cleaning (not as often as I was doing in the beginning, as I was trying to “earn my keep” and I was burning out) enough to be comfortable. I have been researching, just because I must, and considering… considering that this may be exactly where I am supposed to be, and trying not to reach for other… to be grateful for what I have, and learn that it is enough.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Autism: Peace For Today

  1. kazst

    December 23, 2015 at 10:41 am

    I watch those. They calm me down when I’m feeling anxious. My favourite is “Flowers.”

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
