RSS

Autism: Binge Watching

14 Jan

For the past few days, I have been binge watching ‘House M.D.’ I chose it because it has eight seasons on Netflix, and should last me a while. I have to binge watch the shows… I don’t move well between worlds. Okay, maybe I don’t have to watch five episodes in one day, and perhaps the reason I have trouble finding things to watch is because I go through the shows so quickly, but… obsessive, fixated, perseverating… I do it with everything. When I like something, or am worried about something, my mind won’t move to other things.

It could be worse, I think. True, I tend to read the same books, and watch the same movies over and over – but it isn’t like I watch just one movie, or read one book over and over. That would be my brother.

The book? “But No Elephants.” I could read it upside down, backwards, and with my eyes closed. I don’t remember him ever choosing another book to read, but I sure knew that one well.

The movie? Okay, that one changed from year to year… or maybe a little longer than that. “Annie,” and “Kindergarten Cop.” We would watch, and watch, and watch again – and every time, both he and I, would mouth the words along with the actors… all of them! Every time, because I am compulsive, and I guess he is, too.

I read, and re-read the same books:

  • Little House on the Prairie
  • Anne of Green Gables
  • Harry Potter
  • Lord of the Rings
  • Eragon
  • Inkheart
  • Left Behind
  • Chronicles of Narnia

And others. All of these books are part of a series, though. I read through the entire series before moving on to other books. Some I repeat annually, and others maybe every two to three years. Sometimes I even add new books to the mix. I really like Historical Fiction, and become fascinated by time periods, or cultural groups.

A few years ago, I read through all of the Brock and Bodie Theonie books (Christian Historical Fiction mainly based on Biblical times.) Then there were a couple of years where I was absolutely enthralled with the Amish lifestyle. Beverly Lewis wrote a lot of books on this subject, and I went through all of them as well.

But I don’t pick up one book, and read, and re-read that one book over and over again. That would very much aggravate me. Of course, I did for my son when he was young. His favourite (at the age of 15 months+) was Fox in Socks by Doctor Seuss. “Read faster,” he would say, over and over – finding it hilarious that I would trip up over the words (a tongue twister book.) I got pretty good though, as he had me read it more than 20 times every day.

As he grew older, however, his taste expanded, and I read to him every one of my chosen books with the exception of Left Behind (that one can be quite scary, and he isn’t interested in End Times Theories like I am.) I read to him every day until just before his fourteenth birthday, when he announced to me that he was too old, as we came once more to the last of the Harry Potter books. I still miss it.

For movies I have my list, too. Sometimes I will add a new movie, but for the last twenty years or so, I have had my favourites that I crave if it has been too long since the last time I saw it:

  • Blast From the Past
  • Ever After
  • Fiddler on the Roof
  • Little Women
  • One Magic Christmas
  • Heart and Souls
  • Man of La Mancha
  • It’s A Wonderful Life
  • Les Mis…

And when it comes to TV shows, I binge watch. I don’t move between worlds easily, so going from one show to another, or from one book series or movie to another, is like being startled awake from a deep sleep, and good dream… it is a shock, and I am never ready for it. The move has to be well thought out, and often after finishing a series, I will maybe watch 5 minutes of a program, before switching to another, than another, until I find one that doesn’t feel like such a shock.

So a long lasting series is like calm in a storm for me. And now I am on House M.D, after having it on my Netflix list for over a year, and spending the last few years trying it out, and knowing I would get here someday – but having many different series to watch first:

  • Lost
  • Heroes
  • Doctor Who (the new series, the poor graphics of the old one makes me dizzy, though I have tried to watch it often.)
  • Smallville
  • Supernatural
  • The 4400
  • The 100
  • Bates Motel…

And now, House M.D., and I am thankful it runs for eight seasons as last weekend I watched both Wallander and Hinterland and was finished them both in two days. How frustrating.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
