RSS

Autism: Amusement Parks

25 Feb

Funnel cakes and fresh air. Music and laughing crowds. People everywhere. Busy. Loud. Eventful. Two hours of driving, there and back, and nearly an entire day on my feet in between.

Long wait times. Heights. Racing heart. Too many people. Close lineups. Screaming children. Eating away from home…

So many things to turn me away, and yet… this is one of my favourite places to be.

The weather gets hot. The crowds get thick. My family gets tired, but I am wide awake and energized. All of these things that drain me, so where does the energy come from?

A day of laughter. A summer of joy. And then it is over, and I miss it. More than anything… well, okay. I miss my mom. I miss my children. But longing for this place, these days, fills my heart. And it is hard to return. I don’t live there anymore. The cost. The drive. The traffic. All of these things keep me away. But I long to return.

Amusement Park

It fills my heart, and it fills my dreams. For one with such strong sensory issues, and such a strong susceptibility to motion sickness, it makes no sense, but it is true just the same.

And with all my heart, I long to return to those days. To that place.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

3 responses to “Autism: Amusement Parks

  1. Ladyofroyalhorses

    February 27, 2016 at 11:16 pm

    Your a good writer. And I like those parks too.

    Liked by 1 person

     
  2. Ladyofroyalhorses

    February 28, 2016 at 12:10 pm

    Your welcome. They need to come up with a ride designed just for Autistic people. Or how about a whole park?

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
