RSS

Autism: Change That Calms Me

19 Apr

This is the picture my husband bought me (from the thrift store) for my birthday a few years ago.

011

He got it for me when I had enrolled in a trades program at the local college, with the intention of becoming a carpenter’s apprentice (weights, heights, loud tools, loud men… what was I thinking?) What I like about the picture is that as we walk past it, the scene changes from one season to another. Spring, Summer, Fall, Winter – they are all there, and sometimes a couple of them at a time. It amazes me that people are able to do such things, but I don’t think about it long. I just like the picture.

While I didn’t exactly experience the change that he had in mind when he got me the picture, and while for the most part, change causes me pretty severe anxiety, there is a type of change that I do like.

I like to move furniture around in my house. I like new paint, and new decorations. I like ‘new’ clothes, and ‘new’ furniture (I did mention that he works at the thrift store, yes?)

Though I like these things, I will sometimes forget. I will go months without having enough energy to move anything, and I forget how much it helps. During those months, I spend hours each day pouring over Pinterest photos, and dreaming of new houses. But the truth is, I don’t need a new house. I only need a bit of change.

In the past few weeks, my husband has ‘purchased’ (most on credit he receives for working there) several new pieces of furniture – most with my encouragement.

First, we got a shoe bench for our front door. One thing I do not like about this house is that it has a split entry – meaning a tiny foyer, which is also our stair landing. Not a great place for shoes, but what do we do. With this bench, our shoes are kept tidy, and out of sight – and we also have a place to sit while we are putting them on. Not a perfect solution, but it looks so much better than it did before, and that helps with my sensory issues a lot!

Then my husband found a chair he really liked. It was a leather lazy-boy recliner. I don’t know why he felt the need to ask me first, but thankfully it was still there when he went back to get it. It is super comfortable! So while he was away, my son and I took turns sitting in it. But it is my husband’s chair…

009

So then we were at the thrift store one day, picking up his cheque, when I mentioned that I would really like a chair like his. And another one was there – not leather (I prefer fabric anyway) – but another lazy-boy, and I really like it. That one is mine!

008

I wasn’t exactly looking for another, but in the back of my mind was still a constant annoyance over the furniture we did have in our living room – a bright red couch, and a rocking love seat. They wouldn’t have been so bad, just, they seemed like such a waste of space, as we never had more than one person on them at a time.

And then I was at the thrift store again, and the solution came to me – there was a blue lazy-boy sofa, with two reclining seats! I love blue. I left it to my husband to decide whether or not to buy it, but I did emphasize quite strongly that I really liked it.

007

It was delivered today, and I had an enjoyable day re-arranging our furniture. Things like this give me energy – though often I forget. Things like these calm me, and help me to feel settled for a little bit longer. Today I am really grateful to have such access to a really good thrift store, for we could never afford such change otherwise.

 

Tags: , , , , , ,

2 responses to “Autism: Change That Calms Me

  1. threekidsandi

    April 19, 2016 at 5:58 pm

    I love thrift stores, too. You have a very lovely home!

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
