RSS

3 responses to “Autism: Guilt and Anxiety

  1. kazst

    April 28, 2016 at 12:41 pm

    I think most people don’t spend as much time introspecting as we do. So yes, they probably think they are good people, because they don’t really spend any time thinking about whether they are or not and it’s sort of a default position in the absence of self-assessment. That is something I am realizing more and more though: that other people don’t think or ruminate, so to speak, nearly as much as I do. I so often get told that I overthink things. Even my husband tells me that, and I see him as being a thinker too.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Walkinfaith925

      April 28, 2016 at 2:01 pm

      My husband has told me that, too – especially since I started writing this blog – that I analyze things way more than he does. Apparently he just ‘goes with the flow.’ I can’t imagine… It never crossed my mind that other people didn’t do that, but all of my life I have lived and relived every thought, every conversation, every experience, over and over. I pull it apart, and look at it, and wonder how I could have done better – and strongly feel the judgements of others as I do this. I always wondered how people let things go, and moved on, and lived life without being as exhausted as I am. I believe now that this is where the difference comes in strongest.

      Liked by 1 person

       
  2. threekidsandi

    April 28, 2016 at 5:32 pm

    I have also been told that I think far too much about things, especially about other people and their reactions or feelings. It does seem impossible to have any sort of relationship without there being hurt involved, and so when I was a teenager I never acted on my crushes. I was terrified of the guilt and rejection. It is a conundrum, how just when you are feeling confident you find you have hurt someone when you used that confidence to reach out and communicate. I hate it.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
