RSS

Autism: Learning About Food

04 May

It started with a Dogwood bush I purchased a couple of weeks ago. Or perhaps it began when I couldn’t deter one of my cats from using the raised bed as a litter box… Regardless, at some point over the last couple of weeks, I decided on flowers and trees over food for my garden. It isn’t that I didn’t want to grow food, but…

back garden

I think I will like the Dogwood bush, though the main reason I chose it when I went to the garden centre was price. I couldn’t get over the cost of their trees this year. Really, it takes me a very long time to come to terms with inflation, and by then, the prices have gone up again. It makes it very hard for me to buy anything.

Something like nine years ago, I bought most of my fruit trees, for example. I paid $20 each for them, which was about normal. Now, however, those same size trees are more like $40-$50 – how can prices double in just nine years? It doesn’t even seem like that long.

Even the Lilacs I paid $10 for a few years ago, are now $15-$20. Unreasonable, I think, as wages haven’t anywhere kept up with these inflated prices – not that I am working at this time, but still.

Anyway, I had the desire to grow food, preserve it, learn to live on less somehow – but I haven’t really the energy for it. More, I don’t have the energy (or concentration) to learn how. I spend my time researching, and by the time I am able to do something, I am too tired to do it.

So I planted the Dogwood bush along with some wildflowers. I imagine I will enjoy the garden when it comes up. I think that even my husband will like it. It won’t look like everyone else’s garden in the neighbourhood, but I am more of a meadow/forest person than a perfectly manicured lawn person anyway. I hope that it grows well.

Meanwhile, I have decided instead to take the advice given by readers in some of my earlier posts to try to learn to preserve food I have bought from the store, or the market, instead of doing all the work from the seed to the table. It is less to learn, for sure, and maybe I can be successful in them.

I have been spending hours on Pinterest, and looking at the links, trying to figure out what foods I would like best (and that my stomach and mind can handle) and hoping to have the energy to follow through and make them.

Wouldn’t it be nice if I could just pull something from a picture into reality, and try it that way… I never said that my imagination was realistic – but I have often wanted to possess this ability.

I have a thought that I will probably regret not planting tomatoes this year. I am the only one in my house that likes them, so we almost never buy them, and somehow store bought tomatoes leave a lot to be lacking. But then… cats. I love my cats, but it would be nice if they wouldn’t use my garden for…

Anyway, the plants are in, and I am waiting for them to grow. I hope I use the time this spring and summer well to learn more what foods I can eat (that will leave me feeling good, as most food doesn’t,) how to make inexpensive meals for myself that don’t take a lot of time (for I still need to cook for my husband and son, who will not eat like I do) and perhaps even learn to preserve food, so that when I do grow my food garden, I will be well educated in what to do when the harvest comes in.

I think that is more than enough of a goal for me for this year. Even that seems exhausting, but I will do my best.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
