RSS

Autism: Feeling Really Good!

11 May

Just now, I plugged in my dehydrator filled with zucchini chips, bananas, and oranges. I can’t wait to try them! I heard that the oranges are good for flavouring water, or tea. I really need to start drinking healthier, and it seemed like a good place to start. Plus the smell of oranges as they are dehydrating… mmmm!

011

Last night for supper, I made a big batch of cabbage soup. I used Chinese cabbage, as that is what we had (that is what we often have, as my husband really likes his stir fry, and I like that it lasts so long, and use it for lettuce.) Carrots, garlic, ginger, green beans, onions, celery, bell peppers (I used both green and red, as we had them in our freezer – I love that they freeze so easy!) a large can of diced tomatoes, parsley, a package of onion soup mix, vegetarian beef bouillon, and millet.

012

I never tried it before, but it was so good! As I was the only one eating it, I had a lot of left overs. I set aside some for supper tonight and tomorrow, and froze the rest for those times I don’t know what to eat. I have learned that those individually frozen meals bring with them a lot of thankfulness in the future, as so often I have nights like that!

In the last few weeks, I have been eating increasingly more vegetarian meals just because that is what I felt like eating – and the meat… I just don’t want it. When I eat it, it sits heavy in my stomach, and makes me feel awful all night long. So even just for health reasons, it really doesn’t seem worth it to me anymore. Only this time, I didn’t exactly choose to become vegetarian all at once. It is something that is happening again on its own.

And do I feel bad? Bad for not eating with my family. Bad for not eating ‘normally.’ Bad for thoughts of what this would mean when I am out visiting, traveling, or camping? Bad as in unhealthy? No! In fact, I feel really, really good about this.

I set the trays on the dehydrator, and felt satisfied over a job well done… well, okay, not exactly done, but the hardest part is over anyway. I think about my supper that is sitting in the fridge for me tonight, and feel good that I will not be eating the ham I am making for my husband and son for supper. Let them eat as they choose. This feels really good to me!

Though I can’t say I won’t eat meat in the days to come, I like that I am finding more and more meals that I like that don’t contain meat, dairy (or eggs – well, they can’t contain eggs. My allergy for that is too severe.) I feel better as I choose these healthy, gluten free recipes. There is such a noticeable difference on my health (if only I could get rid of these headaches, and find some energy too – but that would likely take better sleep than I have been having.)

So I suppose that all of these days that I have spent perseverating on research over vegetarian foods has started to pay off after all. I am thankful, and I feel really, really good!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
