RSS

4 responses to “Autism: Why Didn’t They Know?

  1. kazst

    June 20, 2016 at 12:53 pm

    I wonder about a lot of these things in my own life.

    But then, I know that people attributed my differences to other (incorrect) things. For example, when I was a child, my teachers attributed my lack of playing and interacting with the other kids to my being an only child. My parents were told if they made me socialize more, I would learn social skills and I would grow out of my tendency to stay on the sidelines and just observe. And my mother attributed a lot of my oddness to the fact that my dad is Finnish, and I am therefore half Finnish. She always thought Finns were weird (not sure why she married one then, but whatever). So there was always some other explanation the adults in my life had for why I was the way I was.

    I did have a roommate once who told me she thought I had a mental illness and should get help, because I spent so much time in my room, but she said it in a very offensive and insulting way, not like she cared about my well-being, so I just felt like she was being mean to me. And of course, Asperger’s is not a mental illness anyway, so she still had it wrong.

    For what it’s worth, when you and I used to spend time together, I never consciously thought of you as being different, other than thinking it was so much easier to spend time with you than with most other people. But then, that makes sense, doesn’t it? Obviously neurotypicals are going to have a different perspective for their opinions… on both of us.

    Liked by 1 person

     
    • Walkinfaith925

      June 20, 2016 at 1:09 pm

      They attributed it to me being ‘shy’ but then in all of my years of school, and all of my time in cadets, there never was another person as ‘shy’ as me. Not one. Not until I ran a daycare, and had one child, who talked as much as I did at her age. She was diagnosed with Aspergers at 12, which really strengthened my idea that this was my issue as well.

      Seeing as that was the case, it seems to me they should have known SOMETHING was behind it, even if they didn’t know it was Autism.

      By the time I met you, I had my son, and had learned to talk a bit. Before he was about 1.5 years, I didn’t talk. Then I started talking mostly about him. I think he was 5 when we met.

      Like

       
      • kazst

        June 20, 2016 at 1:20 pm

        That makes sense. In my case, I always was fairly good at having one-on-one conversations, just not at joining in with groups or doing physical things with others (like playing when I was a child). So we got along well.

        Liked by 1 person

         
  2. NickyB.

    June 20, 2016 at 7:57 pm

    Very valid questions.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
