RSS

Autism: Proper Planning

05 Aug

For three weeks I tried planning so this wouldn’t happen. For months I was thinking about it. I even made a conscious decision that I would not be able to maintain my rather unusual diet during the week I was away – and that I would be okay with that.

To further avoid the chance of this issue, I brought along vegan meal replacement shakes and vegetable juice. That way at least if the meals were not complete, I could manage to avoid… well…

We arrived on Sunday evening, having eaten fast food along the way. Sure, I felt the effects of the wheat I had eaten, but it sure tasted good! I had brought tums and other medications to counteract the pain.

The very next morning, however, the trouble began. The almond milk I needed to mix with the powder for my shake was in the fridge in the camper where someone else was sleeping. Unexpected fail # 1. As I was setting up the bed in the tent, others were putting away the food. Even if everyone was awake, I cannot go into a camper where someone else is staying.

However, that is the only camper with a working fridge, and the other propane fridge in the shed was full. It made sense to them, but has made a difficult issue even harder for me.

So instead of my shake, I thought I would make instant oatmeal. “The kettle on the camp-stove has hot water,” I was told. I struggled to find a bowl and spoon, but they were brought to me. When I poured the water and tried to mix the oatmeal, I found the ‘hot’ water was almost cold. Fail # 2. Despite the current fad of overnight oats, I do not like cold oatmeal. I struggled to eat it, but did not feel well.

Around noon I was feeling so sick I drank nearly a litre of vegetable juice to try to counteract the feeling. That helped, and for lunch I ate sausage and for supper, had black bean burgers (which I had premade and froze) on bread. Then of course I was sick from the wheat. I took 3 Tums, and 2 Gravol before bed. That helped with the stomach issues and heartburn, but not the irritated skin, insomnia, and fuzzied/dull thinking that the wheat caused.

Well, that night it POURED for hours. It was hard to sleep, and in the morning, everything was soaked – and it was still cold and rainy. My almond milk (which my husband took out for me) was slushy from being in the cold fridge, and besides, my shaker cup was on the drying rack out in the rain.

Since the benches were wet, I stood and ate a cold piece of bread toasted on the BBQ (but didn’t stay warm) with cold margarine, cold peanut butter, and sticky honey. (Wheat again!)

Not feeling great, I read in an empty camper for the morning, and came out to find beans and wieners made for lunch. Yuck! “You’ll have to find your own food,” my husband said. Impossible! So despite all of my careful planning, I lost it. I hid at the end of a table, behind a cooler, and couldn’t stop crying for over an hour.

Forget, “if she’s hungry, she’ll eat,” or “she’s an adult, she can deal with it.” When it comes to food? Impossible! I am a young child with an extremely sensitive stomach, and very particular tastes. Without help, and proper food at proper times, I cannot function. I cannot succeed.

001

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Autism: Proper Planning

  1. kazst

    August 5, 2016 at 3:43 pm

    I can relate to this. It is very difficult to be with other people and/or away from home when you have special dietary needs and sensitivities.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
