RSS

Autism: Don’t Need Real

23 Sep

I keep looking for it, but it isn’t available – at least, not where I live. Of course, it is such a new thing, and probably doesn’t offer what I am imagining yet. But if I can imagine it, someone else must have, and perhaps they can make it… soon, please?

While I would like it at home, I probably couldn’t afford it. So someone (not myself of course) would have to invest in it like a business. Like one of those old fashioned arcades they had when I was a kid… But then, I didn’t like arcades. Yet I think I would like this.

In order to feel safe, I would like it in individual rooms – or some things could be in a machine like a motion simulator, where there are several seats facing a screen instead of individual goggles.

Of course I am talking about virtual reality.

I wouldn’t use it for games like I guess so many would. I get scared watching regular games played – imagine then how I would feel about them in virtual reality! No thanks!

I would like to use them for travel experiences. I would like to visit all of the famous places in Israel, Greece, France, Italy, England… all over the world – just as if I were there, but without ever having to leave home.

You see, I don’t need real. I just need it to seem that way.

August Vacation 2016 015

So while I am not very much into new technology, and hardly keep up with the newest things, this excites me.

Traveling is hard for me. Not only is it expensive – too expensive for me to even consider much of the time – but it also causes me a lot of fear and anxiety. I am afraid to travel, either by car, or plane, or… and besides that, I get motion sickness. I am afraid going there, and coming back. I am afraid being there, and struggle with the crowds, and with the sounds, and with the smells. I can only handle so much. I am afraid of the food. If I struggle while at home, how much more will I struggle with a different culture and language? I can’t handle change.

So for all of those reasons and more, travel is too hard for me. I can’t enjoy my trip until it is over – and so much is missed with that level of anxiety. But with virtual reality, I could go, and be home, all at the same time. How great would that be!

I would use it for traveling through fairs, theme parks, and amusement parks. I would use it to watch theatre performances, and ride on roller coasters. I would use it to live.

Okay. The idea of using a cell phone for this makes me nervous. First, I don’t want to own a smart phone, or a cell phone, or whatever. Second, if these things cause cancer, I don’t want to have them hovering over my eyes for hours at at time. That would be bad!

There is no way I could afford the computer that could run it, or all the equipment that would go with it – but if someone else invested in these things that I could use at a cost (like a season pass, or a daily pass, or something) I would go. I would use it. And I would really love to have that available to me. Especially in a small town like mine where I have to travel far to get to anything like that, meaning I really can’t experience it for real. And for real, with my autism and anxiety issues, is often just too hard.

But this idea? I can’t wait for someone to bring in something like this that I could use!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
