RSS

Autism: Benefits of My Own Space

15 Feb

There was a fun type of game going around Facebook for a while that said to open up your phone (I don’t have one) and click on the middle suggested word twenty times in a row. I was always tempted to try this, but since I had no phone, and my tablet was not near me at the time, I never got around to it – until today.

I am not sharing this on Facebook, but I found my result quite funny, and wanted to share it here. Keep in mind that I am neither fluent in Spanish, nor do I write in Spanish most of the time – but I must use the automated suggestions much more for Spanish than for English; I have been learning Spanish on Duolingo.com for a couple of years, though I got out of the habit nearly a month ago when my routine was changed, and I broke my streak. It is very easy for good habits to be broken for me, and very difficult to get back into them.

All that to explain what I wanted to share. The result of my ‘twenty suggested words’ was: “yo no rechazo a la gente que no tiene nada que ver con el tema de la compra de la casa de la abuela,” which means, “I do not reject people who have nothing to do with the issue of buying grandma’s house .“ (the “a la,” and the “de la” came up as single suggestions, and the phrase ended in “y” (and) so I left that off.

So I guess that is my new motto for life, “I do not reject people who have nothing to do with the issue of buying grandma’s house!” Funny. I laughed so loud, my son had to come up and see what was going on.

I don’t believe that was ever a phrase that I had to translate in my Spanish course, though it sounds like one they would have – like one I translated a lot in the beginning of the course, “Mis elefantes beben leche.” (My elephants drink milk.)

Speaking of Spanish, I am really enjoying being back in my own room. I sleep better, I wake up feeling better, and best of all, I am getting back into good routines.

036

For instance, the first thing that came back after moving into the ‘pink room’ was that I started practicing my keyboard again (which I got out of when my brother in law stayed in that room last September.) I thoroughly enjoy it while I am practicing, and spend the rest of the time with worship songs playing through my head (for that is the book I am practicing from.)

Later that week, my husband bought me an ellliptical machine from the thrift store where he works. It is huge and bulky in our living room, and squeaks really loud when I am using it, but I love it! I use it in front of the TV while streaming documentaries on my Chromecast from Netflix. (Wow, there were a lot of words in that sentence that I never used up until a short time ago!)

I am walking my dogs again – though I admit that has so much more to do with the warmer weather than having my own room (it has been hovering just over 0 Celcius this week as opposed to the -10 to -15 Celcius we have had far too long this winter.) Even Clara walked today as the roads were nearly dry for the first time since about November.

Best of all, I am dreaming again. Being in my own room means I can be (pretty much) on my own schedule. It isn’t so much that I am up later than him or anything, but that I am not wondering every moment when he will come in and watch me until I am finished with what I am doing. (Maybe I just felt watched – I always do when someone is near me, but still…) so I am able to focus entirely on what I am doing, and transition on my own terms.

This was a really good move for me!

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
