RSS

Autism: Vulnerable

26 Apr

There I sat, on the couch, in another person’s house, with a blanket over my legs. Though it was only a few days before, I had blocked out the message – yet when my husband handed me my study sheet, it all came back to me.

It was going to be a difficult night.

The message? Dinah, daughter of Jacob, had been raped and was being held captive. Her brothers tricked the tribe involved into having all of their men circumcised. “While they were still in pain,” they killed them all, and brought Dinah back home.

Hard biblical stories which aren’t found in the children’s bibles. Difficult messages full of pain.

I remember listening on Sunday thinking, “I can relate to this story, yet… I am not struggling with it now.” And I believed that while I was in church. Then I went home, and my mind was flooded with flashbacks, and pain, and all the ways this history still effects me today.

Years later, it still effects so much of how I live and view the world. Right down to pretty much every thought, every emotion, longing, fear, desire… everything about the men around me.

It makes me vulnerable. It reduces me to the state of the child I was silently begging for someone, anyone to rescue me. A child who learned early on that popular opinion on who is and isn’t a good person was fatally flawed, so she could never believe what other people agreed as truth. A child, struggling to trust anyone to protect her – even God. A child who believed there must be something fundamentally wrong with her to cause her father to use her in that way.

me at 7

Beneath the Autism that made it hard to speak, confusing to be around people, isolating in my ability to fit in, painful in the overwhelming sensory struggles… Beneath the failures throughout my adult life which shattered whatever confidence I once had that things “have to get better.” Beneath the exhaustion which often overwhelms me so I can barely move. Beneath the hurt of a lifetime of people telling me I was doing things wrong. Beneath it all, there is this – and this affects everything.

I walked out of the church, and noticed several women in tears. It didn’t shock me. I was one of them, yet… for the moment I still felt okay. Until I got home and realized I wasn’t. Not at all.

And there I sat with the paper in my hands, and though I was cold, I was filled head to foot with heat that was shame… I guess it was shame. I couldn’t move. My ability to communicate locked up in my head as it constantly did when I was a child. I couldn’t have spoken if I wanted to; I am not sure I did want to.

What would have been the point?

So I heard what was being said, but all I could do was sit there locked inside my body, hating myself. I couldn’t look at any of them. I couldn’t look away from the study sheet – and though there were only a handful of questions, I spent much of that hour reading them over and over again.

I thought I had mostly gotten past it. What I realized anew this week was that it is still very much a part of me, and likely will be until the day I die.

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

One response to “Autism: Vulnerable

  1. grace to survive

    April 27, 2017 at 4:26 am

    No wonder you froze. I hope you find a way out of shame and hating yourself. It has been a long road for me and one I travel too till the day I die. What happens in childhood becomes part of the personality. (my opinion only) Yet shifts can be made by offering oneself positives to counteract the negative thoughts of oneself. You are worthy, you matter, you are unique and so are you gifts. Make a list of positives if you like. I find that the positives are much harder to come up with at first but then day after day, and week after week of trying, it does become habit. A very good habit that leads to growth in a very real way. Blossoming… opening up inside with self-love.

    Liked by 1 person

     

Leave a Reply

 
