RSS

Autism: There She Was

24 May

In the afternoon, I was singing and dancing around the house. My son told me that he was going to record it and show it to Nana when she got here.

It helped to calm me that WestJet had flight updates on their website, and I was able to see that her first plane had both left the original city, and arrived at the layover stop on time. Suddenly she was only a 5 hour car ride away – rather than a 5 day drive! Even though I couldn’t see her or talk to her at that time, she seemed much closer, and therefore I was much more confident that she would arrive safely.

The drive from our home to the airport is a little under an hour and a half. My mom’s second flight hadn’t even taken off when we needed to leave to pick her up. I did the normal bedtime routine for ‘my girls’ (my 2 Chihuahua’s for those who don’t know.) I then brought them to bed, and put up the gate that I leave just outside of my room at night to stop them from wandering the house (and making messes) during the night.

Clara brought me her bunny rattle (her favourite toy) which she does when it is time for bed. I am not allowed to take it from her, but it is a real honour to have the toys brought to me, and I am supposed to make a big deal out of it (which I do.) I felt really bad about saying goodbye to them at that point, but what could I do?

We arrived at the airport at 10:36pm; a little early, but not bad. The airport is having extensive renovations being done. There was a work crew behind plastic sheets, tearing up tile and such with bobcats and other such machines. It is usually a very nice airport, but this time it was mostly noisy, dusty, and a bit of a mess.

Since we had time, we wandered to the observation deck. With the glare, it was hard to see the planes outside, but we were able to watch a video there about what was being done to the airport. There were diagrams and details on the expansion (something like double the size, with half the CO2 emissions – it was quite dizzying.)

Though the next flight out wasn’t until 5:30am, there were already people there, planning to spend the night in anticipation of their flight. I found that unusual – but since they would have to be there by about 4am, it kind of made sense.

Nana’s second flight was delayed by 15 minutes. Another flight arrived just before hers. Though there were many of us waiting at the arrivals gate, I was a bit saddened to see the people from that flight walk past all of us. They seemed like really tired workers – the flight is only an hour – I guess it is so common for them to fly in that people don’t come to greet them, but really?

There were a lot of different people coming next: Tall, short, with or without glasses, short hair, long hair, curly hair, thin, not really thin… as I watched them, my heart began to race. What if Nana doesn’t look the same? What if she got taller, or thinner, or cut her hair, or changed the colour, or… What if that person was Nana and I didn’t recognize her? But no, she walked past and met someone else. What if she were that person, or that?

And suddenly, there she was! Looking just like she always did. Finally my mom was here. It felt surreal. It does still. All the way home, I was shouting in my head to my son, “My mom is here!!!”

035

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
